The Five Wishes - An Advance Directive

Feb 26, 2023
The Five Wishes is the first living will (also called an advance directive) that talks about your personal, emotional, and spiritual needs as well as your medical wishes. It was written with the help of the American Bar Association's Commission on Law and Aging. It meets the legal requirements of 46 states, but is used widely in all 50, and a federal law requires medical care providers to honor patient wishes as expressed. If you aren't aware of Five Wishes I encourage you to find out more for yourself and your loved ones:

Five Wishes lets your family and doctors know: 
  • Who you want to make health care decisions for you when you can't make them
  • The kind of medical treatment you want or don't want
  • How comfortable you want to be
  • How you want people to treat you
  • What you want your loved ones to know